Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessie tutors in Louisville, KY

Jessie S.

Private tutor in Louisville, KY

Education

PhD Student in Political Science at the University of Florida MA in Political Science from the University of Louisville (2014) MA in European Union Studies from the College of Europe (2012) MA in French from the University of Louisville (2010) BA in French & Humanities from the University of Louisville (2010) Tutoring Certificates from the University of Louisville

Experience

I am writing my dissertation for my PhD in Comparative Politics through the University of Florida. I have experience teaching university writing courses, political science courses, and international relations. I have taught intensive political science courses for high school students at Duke University's Talent Identification Program. I have also served as a teacher with younger (from age 4-12) homeschool students. I have tutored French at various levels to students of all ages (from 4 to 68!). I've lived in Montpellier, France for one year (where I took courses in French & interned in a music conservatory) and have written a Masters thesis in French. I also took Masters level courses in French while studying in a dual-language program in Warsaw, Poland. I try to bring my experiences of studying and living abroad to my tutoring sessions. I want my students to feel encouraged, and to connect with the cultures about which they're learning! I am also a very strong writer and editor; both are necessary skills at the PhD level. I recently edited a dissertation for a doctoral level Pharmacy student & mentored a Political Science Masters student through her thesis. I also worked for the French Consulate of Chicago in the media office, where I wrote several articles circulated to embassy officials. I am happy to provide references and writing samples upon request.

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I practice barre & yoga regularly. I love being challenged & I find that both practices help with mindfulness. I am an avid traveler, having spent time in over 33 countries around the world! Fun Fact: I recently returned to Louisville after living in Windhoek, Namibia for 10 months! I believe in being positive & helping others grow their confidence! I am self-motivated, organized and want to help my students become the same way! I get along well with just about anyone, and I always strive to help them get the most out of their time with me.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!